Skip to the content

Seán Hewitt and Zaffar Kunial longlisted for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2023

The RSL Ondaatje Prize longlist has been reveled and featured are Seán Hewitt and Zaffar Kunial. Seán Hewitt is longlisted for his book All Down Darkness Wide (Jonathan Cape), a memoir of queer relationships and mental health framed by imagined encounters with key figures from LGBTQ+ history, and Zaffar Kunial for his poety collection England's Green (Faber), which re-envisages the country and language we think we know through intimate and revealing observations and memories. 

Awarded to an outstanding work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry that best evokes the spirit of a place, the RSL Ondaatje Prize is an annual award of £10,000. Nine authors have been longlisted for this year’s prize, selected by judges Samira Ahmed (Chair), Roger Robinson and Joelle Taylor.

Click here for more.

Related Articles