Skip to the content

RCW authors shortlisted for An Post Irish Book Awards 2022

Authors Steven Cavanagh, Seán Hewitt, Aingeala Flannery, Audrey Magee, Ed O'Loughlin, Catherine Doyle and Katherine Webber have made the cut for this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards, which celebrates Irish writers across 18 categories. Steve Cavanagh, author of The Accomplice (Orion), is shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year; Seán Hewitt, author of All Down Darkness Wide (Jonathan Cape), and Ed O'Loughlin, author of The Last Good Funeral of the Year (Quercus) are shortlisted for Biography of the Year; Aingeala Flannery, author of The Amusements (Sandycove), is shortlisted for Newcomer of the Year; Audrey Magee, author of The Colony (Faber & Faber), is shortlisted for Novel of the Year; and Catherine Doyle, co-author of Twin Crowns with Katherine Webber (Farshore) and sole author of the middle grade novel The Lost Girl King (Bloomsbury), is shortlisted for both the Young Adult Fiction Book of the Year and Children's Book of the Year. 

The public are now being asked to cast their votes online for the best books of the year on the An Post Irish Book Awards website. All voters will be entered into a prize draw to win one of five €100 National Book Token vouchers. Voters may cast their votes from 9am on 21st October until voting closes on 10th November.

The winners will be announced at a live in-person ceremony, which will take place on 23rd November in the Convention Centre in Dublin. 

Related Articles