Skip to the content

Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers' Award Shortlist Announced

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Deborah Rogers Foundation's Writers' Award 2018. Three first-time writers, one of whom will win £10,000 to support them financially while they complete their first book, have been chosen from a submissions total of 752 entries.

Anne Enright (Chair), Pete Hobbs and Jenny Uglow -  the judges of the 2018 Deborah Rogers Writers Award – began their reading in late March, from a longlist of eight entries chosen by agents within Rogers Coleridge & White.

The three writers shortlisted for the award are:

  1. Dima Alzayat – Daughters of Manat & other stories
  2. Deepa Anappara – Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line
  3. Chris Connolly – The Speed of Light and How it Cannot Help US

Anne Enright, Chairman of the judges, comments:

“The judges are delighted with this varied and hugely interesting shortlist which shows the vigour and range of writing in English today.  New work is always so heartfelt.  It is a privilege to witness talent at this early stage.”

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 16th May at an Award Ceremony in London and will receive a cheque for £10,000 from Anne Enright.  On Sunday 27th May, Ian McEwan will introduce the winner of the 2018 Writers Award to the audience following his interview with Stig Abell at the Hay Festival. Ian McEwan was a longstanding client of Deborah’s.


For more information, please see here.

Related Articles