Skip to the content

Sarah Bakewell has won the Windham-Campbell Prize

We are over the moon at the news that Sarah Bakewell is one of eight recipients of the Windham-Campbell prize, one of the most prestigious and valuable literary prizes for writing in English, for her contribution to nonfiction.

The £165,000 award is intended to alleviate writers' financial constraints, allowing them to pursue their literary goals unfettered. In a statement on their website, the awarding committee wrote: "Sarah Bakewell unknots complex philosophical thought with verve and wit; her eye for detail and her animated conversation bring readers to inhabit the lives of great philosophers." Previous Windham-Campbell Prize winners include Edmund de Waal, Pankraj Mishra and Tom McCarthy.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Sarah Bakewell: Zöe Waldie)

Related Articles