Skip to the content

Abir Mukherjee Longlisted for Three CWA Daggers

RCW is delighted to announce that Abir Mukherjee's A Necessary Evil has been longlisted for three Dagger Awards by the Crime Writers Association: Gold, Ian Fleming Steel and Historical.

The CWA Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. These prestigious awards started in 1955, less than two years after the Association was founded. Over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased (and occasionally decreased). Currently ten Daggers are awarded annually by the CWA.

Most of the awards are nominated by the books' publishers.

The CWA Gold Dagger is awarded to the best crime novel of the year. The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger is awarded for the best thriller. Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller – that “one simply has to turn the pages”; this is one of the main characteristics that the judges will be looking for. Finally, the Historical Dagger is awarded to the best historical crime novel, first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period, set in any period up to 35 years prior to the year in which the award will be made.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the autumn.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Abir Mukherjee: Sam Copeland)

Related Articles