Skip to the content

Anne Enright wins Writers' Prize for Fiction 2024

Anne Enright has won the fiction category in this year’s Writers’ Prize, formerly the Rathbones Folio Prize, at a ceremony at the London Book Fair for The Wren, The Wren (Jonathan Cape), a meditation on love and the love between mother and daughter – sometimes fierce, often painful, but always transcendent.

A statement read on her behalf said: "It’s lovely to be voted for as opposed to judged, don’t ask me why, it just feels simpler, broader, more robust. I look at the list of members in the Folio Society and realise my novel was brought to the attention of some of the writers whose work I admire most. And indeed that might have been enough."

Open to all works of literature, regardless of form, the award is the only international, English-language award nominated and judged purely by other writers. This year’s shortlists — which were revealed in January — and winners were decided entirely by the Folio Academy, made up of more than 350 writers. Previously known as the Rathbones Folio Prize, the award relaunched last year as The Writers’ Prize.

Related Articles