Skip to the content

Sir Terry Pratchett, Estate of

Terry Pratchett was born in 1948 and had his first story published when he was just thirteen. After leaving school at seventeen to become a journalist he continued writing, publishing his first novel, The Carpet People, in 1971 and going on to produce the phenomenally successful Discworld series. Terry proved early critics wrong and became one of the UK’s most successful authors, receiving a knighthood in 2009 and seeing many of his books adapted for the screen.

He died in March 2015 after a long struggle with Alzheimer’s disease. You can find out more about his life and work below.

Twitter: @terryandrob

Books in order of publication:

The Carpet People (1971)

The Dark Side of the Sun (1976)

Strata (1981)

The Colour of Magic (1983)

The Light Fantastic (1986)

Equal Rites (1987)

Mort (1987)

Sourcery (1988)

Wyrd Sisters (1988)

Pyramids (1989)

Guards! Guards! (1989)

Turntables of the Night (1989)

Truckers (1989)

The Unadulterated Cat (1989)

Wings (1990)

Eric (1990)

Moving Pictures (1990)

Good Omens (1990)

Diggers (1990)

Reaper Man (1991)

Witches Abroad (1991)

Small Gods (1992)

Lords and Ladies (1992)

Only You Can Save Mankind (1992)

Men At Arms (1993)

Johnny and the Dead (1993)

Soul Music (1994)

Interesting Times (1994)

Maskerade (1995)

Feet of Clay (1996)

Hogfather (1996)

Johnny and the Bomb (1996)

Jingo (1997)

The Last Continent (1998)

Carpe Jugulum (1998)

The Fifth Elephant (1999)

The Truth (2000)

Thief of Time (2001)

The Last Hero (2001)

The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents (2001)

Night Watch (2002)

The Wee Free Men (2003)

Monstrous Regiment (2003)

A Hat Full of Sky (2004)

Going Postal (2004)

Thud! (2005)

Wintersmith (2006)

Making Money (2007)

The Folklore of the Discworld (2008)

Nation (2008)

Unseen Academicals (2009)

I Shall Wear Midnight (2010)

Snuff (2011)

Dodger (2012)

The Long Earth (2012)

A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction (2012)

Raising Steam (2013)

The Long War (2013)

Dodger's Guide to London (2013)

The Long Mars (2014)

Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Stories (2014)

The Shepherd's Crown (2015)

The Long Utopia (2015)

Shaking Hands with Death (2015)

The Long Cosmos (2016)

The Witch's Vacuum Cleaner: And Other Stories (2016)

Father Christmas's Fake Beard: And Other Stories (2017)

The Time-travelling Caveman: And Other Stories (2020)

A Stroke of the Pen: The Lost Stories (2023)

Agent: Jon Wood
Sir Terry Pratchett, Estate of Titles