Skip to the content

Giles Milton

Giles Milton was born in Buckinghamshire in 1966 and read English at the University of Bristol. He is the internationally best-selling author of many works of popular history, including Nathaniel’s Nutmeg, Big Chief Elizabeth, Samurai William, White Gold, Paradise Lost, Wolfram: The Boy Who Went to War, Russian Roulette, Fascinating Footnotes from History, Churchill’s Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare, D-Day: The Soldier's Story and Checkmate in Berlin. His books have been translated into more than twenty languages and have been serialized on both the BBC and in British newspapers. The Times described Milton as being able "to take an event from history and make it come alive," while The New York Times said that Milton’s "prodigious research yields an entertaining, richly informative look at the past." Milton’s book Nathaniel’s Nutmeg is currently under option in America for a major TV series. His most recent work is Vodka with Stalin: The Allied Mission to Wartime Moscow. He launched a podcast with producer Sarah Peters in March 2023 called Cover Up: Ministry of Secrets. He lives in London with his wife and daughters.


Twitter: @GilesMilton1
Instagram: @gilesmiltonecad
Facebook: Giles Milton (Writer)

Books in order of publication:

The Riddle and the Knight(1996)

Nathaniel’s Nutmeg(1999)

Big Chief Elizabeth (2000)

Samurai William (2002)

White Gold (2004)

Edward Trencom’s Nose (2007)

Paradise Lost (2008)

According to Arnold (2009)

Call Me Gorgeous (2009)

Zebedee’s Zoo (2009)

Wolfram (2011)

Good Luck Baby Owls (2012)

Russian Roulette(2013)

Children of the Wild (2013)

The Perfect Corpse (2014)

Churchill's Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare (2015)

D-Day: The Soldiers’ Story (2018)

Checkmate in Berlin: The First Battle of the Cold War (2022)



Giles Milton Titles