Skip to the content

Louise Welsh

Louise Welsh’s debut novel The Cutting Room was nominated for several literary awards including the 2003 Orange Prize for Fiction. It won the Crime Writers’ Association Creasey Dagger for the best first crime novel. Welsh’s second major work, the novella Tamburlaine Must Die, fictionally recounts the last few days in the life of 16th-century English dramatist and poet Christopher Marlowe, author of Tamburlaine the Great. Her third novel, The Bullet Trick, is set in Berlin, London and Glasgow and narrated from the perspective of magician and conjurer William Wilson. Her fourth novel is Naming the Bones. Her fifth novel, The Girl on the Stairs is a psychological thriller set in Berlin. Her sixth novel is A Lovely Way to Burn, and its sequel, Death is a Welcome Guest. Her next novel will be a sequel to The Cutting Room and is to be published in 2021.

Books in order of publication:

The Cutting Room (2012)

Tamburlaine Must Die (2004)

The Bullet Trick (2006)

Naming the Bones (2010)

The Girl on the Stairs (2012)

A Lovely Way to Burn (2014)

Death is a Welcome Guest (2015)

Louise Welsh Titles