© British Library Board

Estate of Angela Carter

Angela Carter was born in Sussex in 1940 and read English at Bristol University. From 1976 to 1978 she was Arts Council of Great Britain Fellow in Creative Writing at Sheffield University and from 1980 to 1981 visiting professor in the writing Program at Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island. She then travelled and taught widely in the USA and Australia. She was awarded the John Llewelyn Rhys Memorial Prize for The Magic Toyshop, the Somerset Maugham Award for Several Perceptions, the Cheltenham Festival of Literature Award for The Bloody Chamber and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Nights at the Circus . Her novels, all of which have received considerable critical acclaim, include Shadow DanceHeroes and VillainsLoveThe Infernal Desire Machines of Dr HoffmanThe Passion of New Eve, and Wise Children. She also published three collections of short stories, The Bloody ChamberFireworks, and Black Venus, and two works of non-fiction, The Sadeian Woman: An Exercise in Cultural History and Nothing Sacred: Selected Writings, translated the fairy tales of Charles Perrault, and edited collections of fairy and folk tales as well as Wayward Girls and Wicked Women: An Anthology of Subversive Stories. She wrote the screenplay for A Company of Wolves, based on her own short story. Angela Carter died in February 1992. A story for children, Sea Cat and Dragon King, was published posthumously by Bloomsbury in 2000. Her work has been collected in three volumes, Burning your Boats (Collected Short Stories) (1995) , The Curious Room (Collected Drama) (1996) and Shaking a Leg (Collected Journalism and Writings) (1997).


Books in order of publication:

Shadow Dance (1966)

The Magic Toyshop (1967)

Several Perceptions (1968)

Heroes and Villains (1969)

Love (1971)

The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman (1972)

Fireworks (1974)

The Passions of New Eve (1977)

The Bloody Chamber (1979)

Nothing Sacred (1982)

Nights at the Circus (1984)

Black Venus (1985)

Wise Children (1991)

Expletives Deleted (1992)

American Ghosts and Old World Wonders (1993)

Burning Your Boats (1995)

Shaking a Leg (1997)

Titles by this Author