Skip to the content

Nicholas A.M. Rodger

Nicholas A.M. Rodger was born in 1949 and was educated at the University of Oxford. He is a historian of the Royal Navy and senior research fellow of All Souls College, Oxford. His work has been critically acclaimed and he was awarded the Julian Corbett Prize in Naval History. Notably, the US Naval Instituted named The Admiralty as one of the best books of the 1980s. Rodger received the Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature in 2005 and was also the winner of the 2005 British Academy Book Prize. In 2011, he was named the first Hattendorf Prize Laureate. He lives in Oxford.

Books in order of publication:

The Admiralty (1979).

Articles of War: The Statutes Which Governed Our Fighting Navies, 1661, 1749, and 1886 (1982).

The Wooden World: Anatomy of the Georgian Navy (1986).

The Armada in the Public Records (1988).

The Insatiable Earl: A Life of John Montagu, Fourth Earl of Sandwich, 1718-1792 (1993).

The Safeguard of the Sea: A Naval History of Britain, Vol.1, 660-1649 (1997).

The Command of the Ocean: A Naval History of Britain, 1649-1815 (2004).

Essays in Naval History, from Medieval to Modern (2009).

The Price of Victory: A Naval History of Britain, 1815-2002 (2013).

Agent: Jon Wood
Nicholas A.M. Rodger Titles