Rob Doyle

Rob Doyle was born in Dublin. His first novel, Here Are the Young Men, was published in 2014. It was chosen as a book of the year by the Sunday Times, Irish Times and Independent, and was among Hot Press magazine’s ‘20 Greatest Irish Novels 1916-2016’. Doyle has adapted it for film with director Eoin Macken. Doyle’s collection of short stories, This is the Ritual, was published by Bloomsbury in 2016. Doyle is the editor of the anthology The Other Irish Tradition (Dalkey Archive Press), and In This Skull Hotel Where I Never Sleep (Broken Dimanche Press). His writing has appeared in the Guardian, Vice, TLS, Dublin Review, and many other publications, and he writes a weekly books column for the Irish Times. He teaches on the MA in Creative Writing at the University of Limerick, and lives the rest of the year in Berlin.

‘Threshold, and the narrator, whose brilliance and humour on literature and drugs, sex and boredom, leave me in awe.” Rachel Kushner

‘Super charming, super funny, and super smart’ Rachel Kushner 

‘I’m quite overwhelmed.. tremendous … there’s a formidable quality to the writing.. the ability to generate the shock that rare work gives the reader, not only in the pleasure and gratitude it engenders, but the serious business of the lines and engines of your own life finding answer and echo in another’s art.” Sebastian Barry on Rob Doyle

‘These bleak, brilliant stories maintain the tradition of Swift and Joyce.. Compelling’ Sunday Times

‘(a) masterstroke in experimental fiction, brimming with ideas, vulgarity and intelligence. Ireland has just gained a cult author of exceptional Talent.’ The Independent on This Is The Ritual

‘Doyle plumbs the bleaker aspects of literary life with startling precision and candor’ The New York Times on This Is the Ritual 

‘For sheer bravery and for style, for its integrity of vision and for its uncompromising tone’ Colm Toibin picks Here Are The Young Men for his Book of the Year in the Irish Times

“Doyle’s fiction deals with life’s major themes: sex, death, guilt, shame, the meaning of existence … Doyle’s storytelling is compelling and engaging, suffused with wit, honesty and emotional intelligence” –  Irish Times

‘A fine debut. A rollicking good read. God may be dead, but a new literary star is born’ Sunday Times

“I’m tempted to quote Nietzsche back at Rob Doyle: he’s not a writer – he is dynamite! Except – like Nietzsche – he’s a tremendous writer too. And I have a suspicion that the author of this provocative and thrilling collection is going to get even better.” –  Geoff Dyer

“A tremendous talent. Every page fizzes with vitality” –  Kevin Barry, author of Beatlebone

‘The mutinous fragments of Rob Doyle’s fictions are bilious, provocative and unnervingly compelling’ Colin Barrett, author of Young Skins

“A world-class writer” –  Joanna Walsh, author of Vertigo

“Full of booze, books, sex and despair yet, despite the bleakness of its stories, skewered as they are on broken hearts and broken artistic dreams, Doyle’s cocky passion provesirresistible. He writes with the confidence of a literary giant … A series of heartening and humane interior struggles. Doyle is as good as everyone – from John Boyne to Colm Toibin – says he is” –  Daily Mail

“Doyle displays a ludic sensibility … The stories are gleefully nihilistic … He has a gift for evoking the base and unpleasant aspects of life in vivid and visceral detail … It creates an almost hypnotic effect; a miasmic fictional space into which the reader slips” –  Times Literary Supplement

‘Unblinking depiction of male desperation’ – Books of the Year, Independent

‘A compelling read’ – Tara Flynn, Books of the Year, Irish Times

‘A fine debut. It shines a light into a relatively unexplored region: the psyches of youth adrift in a world where old verities no longer exist … A rollicking good read. God may be dead, but a new literary star is born’ – Sunday Times

‘A powerful, passionate and electrifying novel. Many writers try to recreate the traumas and anxieties of teenage years in fiction but very few manage it with as much conviction as Rob Doyle. The language is unflinching, the story uncompromising….  easily the most honest account of young Irish people for many years’ – John Boyne, author of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

‘A dark and intoxicating debut’ – Irish Independent

‘A lament for the blank generation, the literary equivalent of the song from which it takes its name, Joy Division’s Decades . a powerful debut, maybe the first novel since Kevin Power’s Bad Day in Blackrock to interrogate the dark side of the young Irish male’s psyche’ – Irish Times

‘A portrait of a jilted generation … a brilliant Dublin novel and an exercise in honesty’ – Irish Sunday Times

Threshold is audacious, daring and deranged, endlessly entertaining, furiously funny and – to hurtle to the other end of the alphabet – wonderful… highly original” Geoff Dyer

‘a brilliant,  maverick achievement. A Pilgrim’s Progress for our time.’ Mike McCormack

‘Doyle has outdone himself. I was buzzing after reading Threshold: it’s the kind of work you have to come down from – playful, potent, lurid, moving and fearless.’ Lisa McInerney

Threshold is extraordinary, quite unlike anything I’ve read before. It’s intimate, a revelation in the literal sense of that world, and yet it’s full of curiosity. It’s hit me right in the gut, made me think about my own life and the things that I’ve done in it. It’s fearless and challenging, inventive and compulsive, unique and utterly heartfelt. A book that will stay with me for a very long time. Masterful.” John Boyne 

‘It’s dazzling. This book confirms his status as one of the most original and intelligent writers at work today.’ – Donal Ryan on Threshold

‘an extremely funny book, a novel that sends itself up mercilessly even as it is created. His best work to date.’  – Kevin Barry on Threshold

‘Confidently told… The masterly narrative pacing brilliantly counterbalances lurid episodes and sometimes terror with devastating wit and epiphany. As ever, Doyle’s prose is compulsively readable, and his insights always credible and occasionally astonishing.’ – John G. Matthews on Threshold

Agent Name: Sam Copeland

Titles by this Author