Skip to the content

Tanya Byrne

Tanya Byrne was born in London where she spent forty years before moving to Brighton in 2017 with her dog, Frida. After eight years at BBC Radio, she left to write her debut young adult novel, Heart-Shapes Bruise, which earned her a nomination for New Writer of the Year at the National Book Awards. As a brown, queer, working class author, she is determined not to pull the ladder up after her so she is passionate about encouraging authors from marginalised backgrounds to tell their own stories and making publishing more open to everyone.

Tanya also writes adult fiction under the pen name Lizzie Byron. 

Twitter: @tanyabyrne and @lizzie_byron
Instagram: @tanyabyrne and @lizziebyronauthor

Books in order of publication:

Heart-Shaped Bruise (2012)

Follow Me Down (2013)

For Holly (2015)

A Change is Gonna Come (2017)

Floored (2018)

Proud (2019)

Someday at Christmas (written under the pen name Lizzie Byron, published in 2020)

Afterlove (2021)

Suddenly That Summer (written under the pen name Lizzie Byron, published in 2022)

In the Shallows (2024)

Tanya Byrne Titles