Skip to the content

Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh. Kate was awarded an MBE in the Queen's 2011 Birthday Honours, for services to literature. Her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and she has been a critically acclaimed international bestselling author ever since.

She is the author of a collection of short stories, Not the End of the World, and of the critically acclaimed novels, Human Croquet, Emotionally Weird, Case Histories, and One Good Turn.

Case Histories introduced her readers to Jackson Brodie, former police inspector turned private investigator, and won the Saltire Book of the Year Award and the Prix Westminster.

When Will There Be Good News? was voted Richard & Judy Book Best Read of the Year. After Case Histories and One Good Turn, it was her third novel to feature the former private detective Jackson Brodie, who also made a welcome return in Started Early, Took My Dog

Life After Life was published in January 2013 to much acclaim and went on to win both the 2013 Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Award for Literature, and was also shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction.

In December 2013 Kate was named Waterstones Author of the Year at the Specsavers National Book Awards.

 A God in Ruins, published May 2015, won the 2015 Costa Book Awards and features Teddy, Ursula Todd's adored younger brother from Life After Life.

Kate's latest novel, Big Sky, a Jackson Brodie story, was published by Transworld in June 2019.


Behind the Scenes at the Museum (Transworld, 1995)

Human Croquet (Transworld, 1997)

Emotionally Weird (Transworld, 2000)

Case Histories (Transworld, 2004)

One Good Turn (Transworld, 2006)

When Will There Be Good News? (Transworld, 2008)

Started Early, Took My Dog (Transworld, 2010)

Life After Life (Transworld, 2013)

A God in Ruins (Transworld, 2015)

Transcription (Transworld, 2018)

Big Sky (Transworld, 2019)

Kate Atkinson Titles