Skip to the content

Rahul Raina

(c) David Fisher
(c) David Fisher

Rahul Raina’s debut How to Kidnap the Rich will be published by Little, Brown (UK) and Harper Collins (US) in 2021, and is a wonderful and original, hilarious and biting, sweeping satire of modern-day India. How to Kidnap the Rich was sold in a six-way auction, and has already been sold into translation into numerous languages. The film rights have been sold to HBO and it was a Radio 2 Book Club Book of the Month.

  • Stylist – best fiction in 2021 –   ‘A satire, a love story and a thriller, a rollercoaster of a read- this is going to be big.’
  • Daily Mail – best books of 2021 top pick – ‘has already been optioned by HBO: a Delhi-set, reality TV-based literary crime crossover, it will appeal to fans of Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians.’
  • Cosmopolitan – best books of 2021 – ‘Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale.. A hugely entertaining and unique debut that satirically dissects India’s inequalities’
  • Booklist - 'Raina’s debut novel lives up to its billing... His delicious skewering of the social mores of Delhi’s über-rich and clear-eyed rendering of India’s social hierarchy propel sheer entertainment into striking elucidation in the mode of Aravind Adiga'

'Rahul Raina’s voice crackles with wit and the affecting exuberance of youth. His ripping good story grabs you on page one and doesn’t let go, taking you on a monstrously funny and unpredictable wild ride through a thousand different Delhis at top speed.  How To Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart.'  Kevin Kwan, author of CRAZY RICH ASIANS

'Part crime novel, part satire on modern India and told with authenticity, razor-sharp wit and a biting turn of phrase, Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich is a book I've been waiting a long time for. I can't remember the last time I read such an assured debut. Raina writes like he's been doing this all his life. Ladies and gentlemen, it's time to welcome a new star to the world of international crime fiction.' Abir Mukherjee, author of A RISING MAN

‘Irony and satire collide in Raina’s sparkling debut… Raina shows both the seedy and privileged parts of Indian society through Ramesh’s biting wit. Readers will enjoy the ride’ Publishers Weekly 

Ramesh Kumar takes exams for the sons of India’s elite. It’s a well-paid but boring existence, and once in a while he gets beaten up. His life changes when he accidentally comes top in India’s all important university entrance exams. His client becomes rich and famous and Ramesh blackmails himself along for the ride. Unfortunately, that ride soon becomes a maze of kidnaps, double-crosses and corruption. And along the way we get to see an India unlike any other, from the ultra-rich to the very bottom rungs.

Rahul divides his time between Oxford and Delhi. He is only twenty seven, but still runs his own start-up in England for part of the year, and works for charities for street children and teaches English in India in the down season. As Rahul says: Garam Masala was written where it’s set, in the 40 degree heat in the concrete coffin that’s New Delhi.

 

Rahul Raina Titles