Skip to the content

Caitlin Moran

Caitlin Moran was born in Brighton in 1975. She changed her name from Catherine Moran to Caitlin Moran when she was thirteen because she thought the name sounded exciting when she saw it in a Jilly Cooper novel. That’s why she pronounces it incorrectly: ‘Catlin’. It causes trouble for everyone. She wrote her first novel, The Chronicles of Narmo, at the age of fifteen. She has worked for The Times since she was eighteen as an interviewer, TV critic and columnist including, in the most-read part of the paper, the satirical celebrity column ‘Celebrity Watch’. She has won the British Press Awards’ Columnist of The Year, Interviewer of the Year, and Critic of the Year. She is the multi-award-winning, million-selling author of How to Be a Woman, which has been named as one of The Sunday Times' 'Most Influential Books of the 2000s'. It also won the National Book Awards Book of the Year, was an instant New York Times bestseller, and is published in twenty-five languages. The 2020 sequel, More than a Woman, was also a number one bestseller. Caitlin Moran's novels How to Build a Girl and How to Be Famous were bestsellers, and she adapted How to Build a Girl into a 2020 movie starring Beanie Feldstein and Emma Thompson. With her sister, she co-wrote the Channel 4 sitcom Raised by Wolves, which won Best Sitcom at the Rose d'Or Awards. She has published two bestselling collections of her journalism, Moranthology and Moranifesto.  Her most recent number-one bestselling book, What About Men?, was published in 2023. Caitlin Moran lives in London.


Twitter: @caitlinmoran

Instagram: @mscaitlinmoran

Books in order of publication:

The Chronicles of Narmo (1992)

How to be a Woman (2011)

Moranthology (2012)

How to Build a Girl (2014)

Moranifesto (2016)

How to Be Famous (2018)

More Than A Woman (2020)

What About Men (2023)

Caitlin Moran Titles