Skip to the content

Lucy Caldwell

Lucy Caldwell was born in Belfast in 1981 and is an award-winning novelist and playwright.

Lucy graduated with a First in English from Queens’ College, Cambridge and is also a graduate of the Royal Court Young Writers Programme. She is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at City University, London and a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund.

Her first novel, Where They Were Missed was written whilst she was still at university and was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas award and the Waverton Good Read Award.  Her third novel,  All the Beggars Riding was chosen as both Irish Waterstone’s Book of the Month and Eason’s Bookclub Choice.

As a playwright Lucy has been attached to the National Theatre and the Royal Court. Her awards include: PMA Award for Most Promising Playwright, the George Devine Award for Most Promising Playwright, the Susan Smith Blackburn Award, the BBC Stewart Parker Award and the Imison Award. She has also been shortlisted for the Evening Standard Most Promising Playwright Award. Lucy’s play, Notes to Future Self went on a national tour in 2011. Hier Soir, Demain Soir, a commission by the Comédie de Valence, was presented at the Festival Ambivalences in May-June 2012.

Lucy has spent time in Bahrain in research for The Meeting Point and Zambia as an Ambassador for the charity Concern. She recently edited Faber's Being Various: New Irish Short Stories, the sixth edition of Faber's long-running series.

Lucy's website is and her Twitter is @beingvarious


Where They Were Missed (Viking, 2006)

Leaves (Faber, 2007)

The Meeting Point (Faber, 2011)

Note to Future Self (Faber, 2011)

All the Beggars Riding (Faber, 2013)

Multitudes (Faber, 2017)

Being Various ed. (Faber, 2019)

Lucy Caldwell Titles