© Michael Trevillion

Dame Antonia Byatt

A.S. Byatt is a novelist, short-story writer and critic of international renown. Educated at York and Newnham College, Cambridge, she taught at the Central School of Art and Design, and was a Senior Lecturer in English at University College, London (1972-1984), before returning to full time writing. Her novels include Possession (winner of the 1990 Booker Prize), The Children’s Book, (shortlisted for the Booker Prize and winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction), and the the Frederica Quartet, comprising The Virgin in the Garden, Still Life, Babel Tower and A Whistling Woman.  Her books have been translated into thirty-two different languages. She was awarded the Erasmus Prize in 2016, for her ‘inspiring contribution to life writing’, and the Pak Kyongni Prize in 2017. In 2018 she received the Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award. A.S. Byatt was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.


Books in order of publication:

The Shadow of the Sun (1964)

Degrees of Freedom (1965)

The Game (1967)

Iris Murdoch (1976)

The Virgin in the Garden (1978)

Still Life (1985)

Sugar and Other Stories (1987)

Unruly Times: Wordsworth and Coleridge in their Time (1989)

Possession: a romance (1990)

Passions of the Mind (1991)

Angels and Insects (1992)

The Matisse Stories (1993)

The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye (1994)

Imagining Characters (1995)

Babel Tower (1996)

Elementals: Stories of fire and ice (1998)

The Biographer’s Tale (2000)

On Histories and Stories (2000)

Portraits in Fiction (2001)

A Whistling Woman (2002)

Little Black Book of Stories (2003)

The Children’s Book (2009)

Agent Name: Zoë Waldie

Titles by this Author