Skip to the content

Stephen Alford

Stephen Alford is the author of the highly acclaimed The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth and is also a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. He taught for fifteen years at Cambridge University, where he was a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of History and a Fellow of King's College. He is now Professor of Early Modern British History at the University of Leeds. 


Books in order of publication: 

Burghley: William Cecil at the Court of Elizabeth I (2008)

The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth (2012)

Edward VI: The Last Boy King (2014)

London's Triumph: Merchant Adventurers and the Tudor City (2017)


Stephen Alford Titles