Skip to the content

Katherine Stansfield

Katherine Stansfield is a multi-genre novelist and poet who grew up in Cornwall. Katherine’s debut novel, The Visitor, combines two of her great loves: Cornwall and historical fiction. The book went on to win the fiction prize at the 2014 Holyer an Gof awards. Stansfield’s Cornish Mysteries – which are set in the 1840’s – include: Falling Creatures (Book of the Month in The Times, shortlisted for the Holyer an Gof fiction prize and the Winston Graham Memorial Prize), The Magpie Tree, and The Mermaid’s Call . She is one half of the writing partnership DK Fields, with her partner David Towsey. Next to publish is Stansdfield’s political fantasy novel, Widow’s Welcome, the first in The Tales of Fenest trilogy. Katherine’s poetry includes: Playing House, All That Was Wood and We Could Be Anywhere by Now. She is the Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Cardiff University, where she also teaches the Writing Crime Fiction course for the university’s School of Continuing and Professional Education. She is an Associate Lecturer for the Open University’s new MA in Creative Writing and a mentor for Literature Wales.

Katherine Stansfield now lives in Cardiff.

Books in order of publication:

The Visitor (2013)

Playing House (2014)

Falling Creatures (2017)

The Magpie Tree (2018)

All That Was Wood (2018)

The Mermaid’s Call (2019)

We Could Be Anywhere By Now (2020)

In praise of The Visitor:

‘An evocative record of a lost age … unmistakably heartfelt’ – The Daily Mail

Katherine Stansfield Titles