Skip to the content

Sir David Cannadine

Professor Sir David Cannadine is President of the British Academy, Dodge Professor of History at Princeton University and Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford. He is author of many books, including: Victorious Century: The United Kingdom, 1800-1906, The Decline and Fall of the British Aristocracy, Class in Britain, Ornamentalism, The Undivided Past, and biographies of G.M Trevelyan, Andrew W. Mellon, King George V and Margaret Thatcher. Sir David has helped transform public perception of key historical figures (namely politicians) through his BBC Radio 4 Series Prime Ministers Props, and his latest book Churchill, The Statesman as Artist which provides the most important account yet of Winston Churchill’s life in art. He is a Trustee of the Wolfson Foundation, the Royal Academy, the Gladstone Library and many more. He sits on the Bank of England Banknote Advisory Committee, is Vice Chair of the Westminster Abbey Fabric Commission and a Vice President of the Victorian Society. Sir David is the Editor of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, and a member of the Past and Present editorial board.

Books in order of publication:

Lords and Landlords: The Aristocracy and the Towns, 1774-1967 (1980).

Blood, Toil, Tears and Sweat: Winston Churchill’s Famous Speeches (1989).

Patricians, Power and Politics in Nineteenth-Century Towns (1982).

The Pleasures of the Past (1991).

G.M. Trevelyan: A Life in History (1997).

The Decline and Fall of the British Aristocracy (1990).

Aspects of Aristocracy: Grandeur and Decline in Modern Britain (1994).

History in Our Time (1998).

Class in Britain (1998).

Britain in “Decline”? (1998)

The Rise and Fall of Class in Britain (1999).

The Houses of Parliament: History, Art and Architecture (2000).

Ornamentalism: How the British Saw Their Empire (2001).

In Churchill’s Shadow: Confronting the Past in Modern Britain (2002).

What is History Now? (2002)

Gunpowder Plots: A Celebration of 400 Years of Bonfire Night (2005).

Admiral Lord Nelson: Context and Legacy (2005).

The Aristocratic Adventurer (2005).

Empire, the Sea and Global History: Britain’s Maritime World c. 1760-c.1840 (2007).

History and the Media (2004).

Mellon: An American Life (12 February, 2008).

Making History Now and Then: Discoveries, Controversies and Explorations (2008).

The Undivided Past: History Beyond Our Differences (2013).

George V, 1910-1936 (2014).

Margaret Thatcher: A Life and Legacy (2017).

Victorious Century: The United Kingdom, 1800-1906 (2017).

Churchill: The Statesman as Artist (2018).

Sir David Cannadine Titles