Christopher de Bellaigue and Sam Knight Shortlisted for Orwell Prize

We are thrilled that two RCW authors have been shortlisted for Orwell Prizes. The Islamic Enlightenment by Christopher de Bellaigue has been shortlisted for the Book Prize 2018 and Sam Knight has been shortlisted for the Journalism Prize for three of his articles.

The Orwell Prize is Britain’s most prestigious prize for political writing. Every year, The Orwell Foundation awards prizes for the work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’. The Prize was established in its present form by the late Professor Sir Bernard Crick in 1994, ‘to encourage writing in good English – while giving equal value to style and content, politics or public policy, whether political, economic, social or cultural – of a kind aimed at or accessible to the reading public, not to specialist or academic audiences.’

The winners will be announced at a Prize Ceremony on 25th June, George Orwell’s 11th birthday.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Christopher de Bellaigue: Natasha Fairweather; agent for Sam Knight: Emma Paterson)

Abir Mukherjee Longlisted for Three CWA Daggers

RCW is delighted to announce that Abir Mukherjee‘s A Necessary Evil has been longlisted for three Dagger Awards by the Crime Writers Association: Gold, Ian Fleming Steel and Historical.

The CWA Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. These prestigious awards started in 1955, less than two years after the Association was founded. Over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased (and occasionally decreased). Currently ten Daggers are awarded annually by the CWA.

Most of the awards are nominated by the books’ publishers.

The CWA Gold Dagger is awarded to the best crime novel of the year. The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger is awarded for the best thriller. Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller – that “one simply has to turn the pages”; this is one of the main characteristics that the judges will be looking for. Finally, the Historical Dagger is awarded to the best historical crime novel, first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period, set in any period up to 35 years prior to the year in which the award will be made.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the autumn.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Abir Mukherjee: Sam Copeland)

Abir Mukherjee Selected for the Zoe Ball Book Club

We are thrilled that A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee has been selected for the Zoe Ball Book Club on Cactus TV.

Mukherjee’s exceptional crime novel is one of ten titles selected and curated by co-founder of Cactus TV Amanda Ross, who was behind the original Richard & Judy TV Book Club, with advice from an expert panel. The format for the show, airing from 17th June (ITV, 8.30am), will see Ball joined by celebrity guests for 10 consecutive weeks to discuss the books, while authors will tell the story of their books in a film.

The TV book club is being supported by major retailers including Asda, Tesco, Sainsburys, Waterstones, Foyles and WH Smith, with sponsor Specsavers helping 3,000 libraries across the UK promote the titles, which will also be available via Amazon and in over 300 independent bookshops.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Abir Mukherjee: Sam Copeland)

MacLaverty and Rundell Shortlisted for IBW Awards

RCW is thrilled to announce that Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty and The Explorer by Katherine Rundell have made the Independent Bookshop Week’s Book Award Shortlists.

MacLaverty has been nominated in the Adult Fiction category, and Rundell in the Children’s category.

As voted for by local independent bookshops and judged by a panel of authors, booksellers and journalists, the three winners – in Adult, Children’s and Picture Book categories – will be announced on Friday 15th June, the day before the start of this year’s IBW. The shortlisted and winning titles will be available at all participating bookshops.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Bernard Maclaverty: Gill Coleridge; Agent for Katherine Rundell: Claire Wilson)


RCW Writers Longlisted for Edge Hill Prize

We are delighted to announce that That Was A Shiver by James Kelman and Basket of Deplorables by Tom Rachman have been longlisted for the 2018 Edge Hill Short Story Prize.

The Edge Hill Prize is now the only UK award for a single-authored collection of short stories with a prize of £10,000. The short-list will be announced sometime in June. The award ceremony will be held on Saturday 3rd November 2018 at Foyles bookshop on Charing Cross Rd, London where it is hoped the shortlisted writers will read from their work.

For more information, please see  here.

(Agent for James Kelman: Gill Coleridge ; Agent for Tom Rachman: Natasha Fairweather)