The Silent Patient Breaks Records

We are delighted to announce that The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides has now sold in 38 territories worldwide. This makes it the UK thriller with the most international deals, possibly beating AJ Finn’s World record of 37 territories.

The debut novel was sold by Sam Copeland to Orion in a competitive deal in January, which was followed by a major pre-empt in the US from Celadon Books. The RCW Foreign Rights department have gone on to sell the title across the world, most recently in Catalan.

Film rights have been sold to Plan B Productions, Brad Pitt’s film company, and Annapurna Pictures.

The Silent Patient is published in February 2019.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Alex Michaelides: Sam Copeland)

RCW authors shortlisted for Specsavers National Book Award

We are thrilled to announce that Ian Rankin, David Baddiel, Viv Albertine, Sarah Perry and Anna James have been shortlisted for the 2018 Specsavers National Book Award.

Ian Rankin’s In a House of Lies has been shortlisted for the Crime / Thriller category, while Viv Albertine has nominated in the Autobiography / Biography category for To Throw Away Unopened. In the category of Children’s Book, David Baddiel has been nominated for Head Kid, and Anna James has been nominated for Pages and Co. Sarah Perry’s novel Melmoth has been nominated in both the categories of Popular Fiction and UK Author.


For more information, please see here.

Agent for Ian Rankin: Peter Robinson; Agent for Viv Albertine: Georgia Garrett; Agent for David Baddiel: Georgia Garrett; Agent for Anna James: Claire Wilson; Agent for Sarah Perry: Jenny Hewson.

RCW Authors Shortlisted for Saltire Awards

We are thrilled to announce that Robin Robertson, Kate Clanchy and Louise Welsh have been shortlisted for 2018 Saltire Literary Awards.

Robin Robertson’s The Long Take has been shortlisted for Poetry Book of the Year, while Kate Clanchy and Louise Welsh have been nominated for most Inspiring Saltire Society Scottish First Book Award Winner. Clanchy’s Slattern won the award in 1996 and The Cutting Room by Louise Welsh won the same award in 2002.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in November. The winning book from each of these £2000 awards will go on to compete for the Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award (£6,000), supported by Creative Scotland.

For more information, please see here.

Agent for Robin Robertson: Peter Straus; Agent for Kate Clanchy: Zoe Waldie; Agent for Louise Welsh: Sam Copeland


From the beginning, the poet was a wanderer, a storyteller, an imaginer of bridges between worlds. Zaffar Kunial is just such a poet and guide for us today. Yet his territory extends much further afield than those of the past – through Kashmir, where his father was born and now lives, to the Midlands of his mother’s birth, and further north to ancestors in Orkney, as well as through language, memory and time. Already an acknowledged star of the Faber New Poets scheme, Kunial has won admirers in such measure as to ensure that Us is one of the most anticipated debuts in recent times. Across its pages, he vocalises what it means to be a human being planting your two feet upon the dizzying earth – and he does so delicately, urgently, intimately – in some of the most original and touching ways that you will read.

Modern Gods

Alison Donnelly has suffered for love. Still stuck in the small Northern Irish town where she was born, working for her father’s real estate agency, she hopes a second marriage will help her get her life back together. Her sister Liz, a fiercely independent professor who lives in New York City, is about to return to Ulster for Alison’s wedding, before heading to an island off the coast of Papua New Guinea to make a TV show about the world’s newest religion.

Both sisters hope to write their own futures, but the past has other ideas. Alison wakes up the day after her wedding to find that her new husband has a past neither of them can escape. While Liz, in a rainforest on the other side of the planet, finds herself increasingly entangled in the eerie, charged world of Belef, the charismatic middle-aged woman she has come to film, the leader of a cargo cult.

As Modern Gods ingeniously interweaves the stories of Liz and Alison, it becomes clear that both sisters must learn how to negotiate with the past, with the sins of fanaticism, and decide exactly what the living owe to the dead. Laird’s brave, innovative novel charts the intimacies and disappointments of a family trying to hold itself together, and the repercussions of history and belief.