RCW Authors Longlisted for International Dublin Literary Award

We are delighted to announce that six of our authors have been longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018:

Sebastian BarryDays Without End

Han Kang – Human Acts

James KelmanDirt Road

Ian McEwanNutshell

Sarah PerryThe Essex Serpent

Zadie Smith Swing Time

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English. The Award is sponsored by Dublin City Council, the municipal government of Dublin, and administered by Dublin City Public Libraries. The Award aims to promote excellence in world literature. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world. The award is now in its 23rd year.

For more information about the prize, please see here.

(Agent for Sebastian Barry: Natasha Fairweather; Agent for Han Kang: Laurence Laluyaux; Agent for James Kelman: Gill Coleridge; Agent for Ian McEwan: Peter Straus; Agent for Sarah Perry: Jenny Hewson; Agent for Zadie Smith: Georgia Garret)

RCW Authors Shortlisted for Irish Book Awards

We are thrilled that four of our authors have been shortlisted for Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2017.

The Girl in Between by Sarah Carroll and Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle have both been nominated for the Dept 51@ Eason Teen/Young Adult Book of the Year Award.

‘Upcycle: an account of some strange happenings on Botanic Road’ from June Caldwell‘s story collection, Room Little Darker has been nominated for the Short Story Award.

Midwinter Break by Bernard McLaverty has been shortlisted for Eason Book Club Novel of the Year 2017.

Now in its 12th year, the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards was founded to celebrate and promote Irish writing to the widest range of readers possible. Hundreds of books were submitted for consideration this year and the public are now being asked to cast their votes online.

The winners will be announced on 28th November.

For more information about the awards, please see here.

(Agent for Sarah Carroll and Moira Fowley-Doyle: Claire Wilson, Agent for June Caldwell: Emma Paterson, Agent for Bernard McLaverty: Gill Coleridge)

Sam Knight and Rachel Cooke Shortlisted for FPA Media Awards

We are delighted to announce that Sam Knight and Rachel Cooke have been shortlisted for Foreign Press Association Media Awards.

Sam Knight has been shortlisted for the Print and Web Feature Story of the Year Award for his Guardian Long Read, ‘London Bridge is Down‘.

Rachel Cooke has been shortlisted for Arts and Culture Story of the Year for her piece in the Observer New Review on the legacy of Eric Gill.

The annual FPA Media Awards is among the most prestigious awards ceremonies for journalism in the world. Dedicated to excellence in journalism, they present a unique opportunity for British journalists to be celebrated and recognised by their international peers.

The winners will be announced on Monday 20th November.

For more information about the Media Awards, please see here.

(Agent for Sam Knight, Emma Paterson; Agent for Rachel Cooke, Peter Straus)

Abir Mukherjee Wins CWA Historical Dagger

We are delighted to announce that Abir Mukherjee has won the Historical Dagger at the Crime Writers’ Association Awards for A Rising Man

The CWA Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. The Historical Dagger is awarded to the best historical crime novel set in any period up to thirty-five years prior to the year of the award.

For more information about the awards, please see here.

(Agent for Abir Mukherjee: Sam Copeland)

Julián Fuks wins 2017 José Saramago Prize

We are thrilled to announce A resistência (Resistance) by Julián Fuks has won the prestigious José Saramago Prize.

Please find links to the official announcement and the statement from the jury.

The novel, a fascinating tale of exile and adoption set in the terrifying late 1970s years in Argentina and Brazil, has already won the Jabuti Prize for Best Novel of the Year 2016. The English translation will be published by Charco Press in Summer 2018.

(Agent for Julián Fuks: Laurence Laluyaux in association with Companhia das Letras)