RCW Authors Nominated As Best British and Irish Novelists by TLS

The Times Literary Supplement has announced its top novelists chosen as Britain’s and Ireland’s best writers.

From the group of around 200 critics, academics and writers of fiction requested to supply a list of the ten authors producing the best writing “at the moment”, six RCW authors feature in the top ten, with a further two in the top twenty.

The RCW nominated authors include:

Zadie Smith (Feel Free: Essays)

Kazuo Ishiguro (The Buried Giant)

Colm Toibin (House of Names)

Nicola Barker (H(a)ppy)

Anne Enright (The Green Road)

Sebastian Barry (Days Without End)

Claire-Louise Bennett and Gwendoline Riley are also among the nominees in the top 20.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Zadie Smith: Georgia Garrett; Agent for Kazuo Ishiguro, Colm Toibin, Anne Enright and Claire-Louise Bennett: Peter Straus; Agent for Nicola Barker: Matthew Marland; Agent for Sebastian Barry: Natasha Fairweather; Agent for Gwendoline Riley: Zoe Waldie)

Ghosts of the Tsunami Shortlisted For Rathbones Folio Prize

Richard Lloyd Parry’s Ghosts of the Tsunami has been shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize.

Announcing the shortlist, the 2018 judges Kate Summerscale, Nikesh Shukla and Jim Crace said:

“The eight books we’ve finally chosen are very different from one another, and they’re all wonderful. Overall, the experience has left us optimistic about the current good health and fine spirit of books in the English-writing and English-reading world.”

The winner will be awarded at a ceremony at the British Library in London on 8 May 2018.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Richard Lloyd Parry: Natasha Fairweather)

First Love Shortlisted for Dylan Thomas Prize

RCW is delighted to announce that First Love by Gwendoline Riley has been shortlisted for the 2017 Dylan Thomas Prize for Young Writers.

Awarded for the best published literary work in the English language written by an author aged 39 or under, the prize invokes the memory of Dylan Thomas to support the best young writers of today and nurture the talents of tomorrow.

2018 will be the 10th edition of the Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize, and will commemorate 65 years since the death of Wales’ most lauded writer Dylan Thomas. The winner will be announced on 10th May 2018.

For more information, please see here.

(Agent for Gwendoline Riley: Zoe Waldie)