Skip to the content

Bee Wilson

Bee Wilson was born in 1974 and writes about food and other subjects. She holds a PhD in History from the University of Cambridge and a Masters in Political Science from the University of Pennsylvania. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and is a six-time winner of the Fortnum and Mason food writing awards (both for her books and her journalism). Her book First Bite won the Special Commendation award from the Andre Simon Memorial Fund Awards. The New York Times Book Review described First Bite as 'an anthropological category killer on the topic of how we learn to eat.” A reviewer in The Los Angeles Times described Consider the Fork as 'a pure joy to read'.  She won the investigative food writing award from The Guild of Food Writers in 2019 for a Long Read published in The Guardian. She writes regularly for The Wall Street JournalThe London Review of BooksThe Financial Times and The Guardian. She published her first cookbook, The Secret of Cooking, in 2023. She is one of the founders of the charity TastEd which offers free resources for British schools and nurseries to help children learn about food, especially vegetables and fruits, using their own senses. She is now working on a picture book for children, among other things. She lives in Cambridge.


Books in order of publication


The Hive: The Story of the Honeybee and Us (2004)

Swindled (2008)

Sandwich: A Global History (2010)

Consider the Fork (2012)

First Bite: How We Learn to Eat (2016)

This Is Not A Diet Book (2016)

The Way We Eat Now (2019)

The Secret of Cooking (2023)

Bee Wilson Titles