Skip to the content

John Niven

(c) Erik Weiss

John Niven spent a number of years working as an A&R manager. His first book, Music from Big Pink, a novella set in the world around Bob Dylan and the Band in Woodstock in the 1960s, was published in 2007. Film rights to the book were acquired by Stephen Butterworth. John Niven is also the author of Kill Your Friends (his cult satire on the music industry, which was longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Award, and which has been made into a film), The Amateurs, The Second Coming, Cold Hands, Straight White Male, The Sunshine Cruise Company, No Good Deed, Kill 'Em All and The F*ck-It Listall of which were published to critical acclaim. His most recent book is a family memoir, O Brother, published in 2023.

Music from Big Pink (novella)

Kill Your Friends

The Amateurs

The Second Coming

Cold Hands

Straight White Male

The Sunshine Cruise Company

No Good Deed

Kill 'Em All

The F*ck-It List


John Niven Titles