Skip to the content

Magnus Mills

Magnus Mills is the author of A Cruel Bird Came to the Nest and Looked In and six other novels, including The Restraint of Beasts, which won the McKitterick Prize and was shortlisted for both the Booker Prize and the Whitbread (now the Costa) First Novel Award in 1999. His novel The Field of the Cloth of Gold, was published to great critical acclaim and shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize 2016. His most recent novel, The Forensic Records Society, was published by Bloomsbury in April 2017. His books have been translated into twenty languages.

Magnus Mills currently resides in London.

Books in order of publication:

The Restraint of Beasts (1998)

All Quiet on the Orient Express (1999)

Three to See the King (2001)

The Scheme for Full Employment (2002)

A Cruel Bird Came to the Nest and Looked In (2005)

Explorers of the New Century (2005)

The Maintenance (2009)

Field of the Cloth of Gold (2015)

The Forensic Records Society (2017)

Magnus Mills Titles