Skip to the content

Melanie McGrath

Melanie McGrath was born in Romford in 1964. She is an Essex girl, co-founder of Killer Women, and an award-winning writer of fiction and nonfiction. As MJ McGrath she writes the acclaimed Edie Kiglatuk series of Arctic mysteries, White Heat, The Boy in the Snow and The Boneseeker, twice longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and picked as Times and Financial Times thrillers of the year. As Melanie McGrath she wrote the critically acclaimed and bestselling family memoir Silvertown. As Mel McGrath she is the author of the psychological thrillers Give Me The Child ,The Guilty Party, Two Wrongs and Tell Me Your Secrets. She has been a documentary TV producer for Channel 4 and presenter of Trailblazers for The Discovery Channel. She has written for The Guardian, The Observer, The Daily Telegraph, The Observer, The Mail on Sunday and The Wall Street Journal and has taught creative writing at Arvon and at UEA, Roehampton, City Universities in the UK and the University of North Carolina in the US. She won the John Llewellyn Rhys Mail on Sunday award for Best British writer under 35 for her first book, Motel Nirvana. McGrath is a regular visitor to prisons and has run a reading and writing group for women over 45 in HMP Holloway.

Twitter: @mcgrathmj
Facebook: Melanie McGrath

Books in order of publication:

Motel Nirvana (1996)

Hard, Soft & Wet (1998)

Silvertown: An East End Family Memoir (2002)

The Long Exile (2006)

Hopping (2009)

White Heat (2011)

The Boy in the Snow (2012)

The Bone Seeker (2014)

Give Me the Child (2017)

Pie and Mash Down the Roman Road (2018)

The Guilty Party (2019)

Two Wrongs (2020)

Tell Me Your Secrets (2023)

Melanie McGrath Titles