Skip to the content

Nick Laird

Nick Laird was born in Northern Ireland in 1975. He has published three novels, Utterly Monkey, Glover's Mistake and Modern Gods, and four collections of poetry, To a Fault, On Purpose, Go Giants and Feel Free. With Don Paterson, he edited Zoo of the New: Poems to Read Now. 


Laird is the recipient of many awards for his fiction and poetry, including the Betty Trask Prize, the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and the Somerset Maugham Award. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a Guggenheim Fellow, he teaches Creative Writing at New York University and is Professor of Creative Writing in Poetry at Queen’s University Belfast. 

Twitter: @NickLaird

Books in order of publication:

Utterly Monkey (2005).

To a Fault (2005).

On Purpose (2007).

Glover’s Mistake (2009).

Go Giants (2012).

Penguin Modern Poets 4: Nick Laird (2017).

Modern Gods (2017).

Feel Free (2018).

Nick Laird Titles