Skip to the content

Nick Hornby

Nick Hornby was born in 1957. He is the author of eight novels, High Fidelity (1995), About A Boy, (1998) How To Be Good (2001), A Long Way Down (2005) (shortlisted for the Whitbread Award), Slam (2007) , Juliet Naked (2009), Funny Girl (2014) and Just Like You (2020); eight works of non-fictionincluding, Fever Pitch (1997) (winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award), 31 Songs (2003)  (shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award), The Complete Polysyllabic Spree (2004), Shakespeare Wrote for Money (2008) and Stuff I’ve Been Reading (2015), collected from the monthly column of the same name that Nick Hornby writes in The Believer magazine. In 1999 he was given the EM Forster Award by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He wrote the screenplay for the film Fever Pitch, Lynn Barber’s An Education, Cheryl Strayed's Wild, Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn and the the TV adaptation of Nina Stibbe’s Love, Nina.  He was nominated for the Oscar for Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay for both An Education and Brooklyn. Both seasons 1 and 2 of his TV series State of the Union won Emmys, and Season 1 was published as a book in 2019. His most recent book is Dickens & Prince: A Particular Kind of Genius. Nick Hornby lives in London.

Twitter: @nickhornby
Instagram: @macon_leary
Facebook: Nick Hornby

Books in order of publication:

Contemporary American Fiction (1992)

Fever Pitch (1992)

My Favourite Year (1993)

High Fidelity (1995)

About a Boy (1998)

How to Be Good (2001)

31 Songs (2002)

The Complete Polysyllabic Spree (2004)

A Long Way Down (2005)

Slam (2007)

Juliet, Naked (2009)

Pray: Notes on the 2011/2012 Football Season (2012)

Stuff I’ve Been Reading (2013)

Funny Girl (2014)

State of the Union: A Marriage in Ten Parts (2019)

Dickens & Prince: A Particular Kind of Genius (2022)

Nick Hornby Titles