Skip to the content

Sebastian Barry

Sebastian Barry was born in Dublin in 1955 and educated at Trinity College. He is the second Irish Laureate and holds the post until 2021. His novels have won, among other awards, the Costa Book of the Year award (uniquely) twice, the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Prize, the Irish Book Awards Best Novel, The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction (again twice) and two consecutive novels, A Long Long Way and The Secret Scripture, were both shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He is also a multiple prize-winning playwright whose plays include The Steward of Christendom (1995), Our Lady of Sligo (1998) and The Pride of Parnell Street (2007). Translated into nearly forty languages, he has published many novels including Days Without End and, most recently, A Thousand Moons. Old God's Time will be published in March 2023. He lives in County Wicklow with his wife, grown up children and a pack of hounds.

Sebastian Barry is represented for film and TV by Cathy King at 42 Management.

Books in order of publication:

The Whereabouts of Eaneas McNulty (1998)

Annie Dunne (2002)

A Long Long Way (2005)

The Secret Scripture (2008)

On Canaan’s Side (2011)

The Temporary Gentleman (2014)

Days Without End (2016)

A Thousand Moons (2020)

Old God's Time (2023)

Sebastian Barry Titles